subject guide: job searching

This guide provides links to library materials, databases, and websites that are helpful for job searchers. They will help you with the job search process and direct you to information on resumes, interviewing, and job outlooks.

Library Materials

1,001 Phrases You Need to Get a Job
by Nancy Schuman
650.14 SCH
Job Searching with Social Media for Dummies
by Joshua Waldman
650.14 WAL
 
What Color Is Your Parachute?
by Richard Nelson Bolles
650.1405 BOL 2011

online databases

AtoZdatabases
Inside the library? www.atozdatabases.com
Outside the library? You will need to enter your library card number.
The Premier Job Search, Reference, and Mailing List Database. The database includes 2.3 million job listings, 30 million business profiles, 1.1 million healthcare professionals, and much more. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more.

INSPIRE - inspire.in.gov
Use INSPIRE's Business Source Premier to research companies where you would like to work.  Includes business profiles on large companies as well. Be sure to check the Testing and Education Reference Center, which is part of the Inspire group of databases.

websites

Job Search Engines

Career Builder - www.careerbuilder.com

Monster Jobs - www.monster.com

Indiana Career Connect - www.indianacareerconnect.com
Search the official career site for Indiana by zip code, city, metropolitan area, or county. Sponsored by WorkOne.

Juju - www.job-search-engine.com

FlipDog Job Search - www.flipdog.com

Employment Guide - www.employmentguide.com

Indeed - www.indeed.com

USA Jobs - www.usajobs.gov
Search for federal government jobs across the nation.

Glassdoor - www.glassdoor.com
Search for jobs nationwide, read reviews of potential employers, and find salary information.

Resume Help

Susan Ireland Resumes - www.susanireland.com 
Susan Ireland, author of The Complete Idiots Guide to the Perfect Resume, offers a step by step guide to writing the perfect resume.  Site includes video instruction and many sample resumes.

Free Sample Resumes - www.eresumes.com
This site guides the user through creating an electronic resume and cover letter.

How to Write a Great Resume - www.rawresume.com
Learn what employers are looking for in a resume as well as in-depth knowledge of resume structure. Plus the tips and tricks to create the pefrect resume.

Hloom's Templates - www.hloom.com/download-professional-resume-templates
Download and personalize a resume for hundreds of choices.

Career Assessment

Occupational Outlook Handbook - www.bls.gov/oco/
The Bureau of Labor Statistic's Occupational Outlook Handbook website offers information about careers including required training, expected earnings and the projected outlook.

Job Hunter's Bible - www.jobhuntersbible.com
Companion site for the book What Color is Your Parachute?

Interviewing

Job-Interview - www.job-interview.net
This site helps out with the interview process by offering tips, guidelines, practice questions and practice interviews.

Salary Information

Bureau of Labor Statistics - www.bls.gov/bls/wages.htm
Research wages by location, occupation, and industry.

Riley Guide Salary Guides & Guidance - www.rileyguide.com/salguides.html
Find salary surveys and also guides for negotiating your salary.

Social Networking

LinkedIn - www.linkedin.com
LinkedIn is like Facebook for professionals. Once you create an account, you can network with professionals in your industry.

Organizations

Business & Professional Exchange (BPE) 
South Side Chapter meets every Wednesday at 8:00am in the lower level of the Greenwood City Building at 2 N. Madison Ave, Greenwood.  Come network and learn about management and professional jobs in the area.
(317) 252-9947 or (317) 731-2734 | Indy.South.BPE@gmail.com

WorkOne Express Johnson County - www.in.gov/dwd/WorkOne
Visit the Johnson County office for help with resumes, career planning, skills evaluation, and job searching.  Free fax services are available as well.
(317) 736-5531 | 97 N Lovers Ln, Franklin, IN 46131 | Hours: Monday-Friday 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

FAQs

Can I search for jobs on the library's computers?
Yes you can! The library has over thirty computers for your job searching needs. Search for jobs online or type your resume.

Do I need an email account to apply for jobs online?
For most online job sites you will need an email address.  If you don't have one, you can sign up for a free account at Gmail (www.gmail.com) or Yahoo (mail.yahoo.com).

How do I upload my resume?
Riley Guide gives you pointers at www.rileyguide.com/eresume.html Library staff are also trained to understand file storage and uploading and downloading resumes and cover letters.

How do I attach my resume to an email?
The Riley Guide listed above can help.

What is the unemployment website?
Create an account or re-login at https://uplink.in.gov/CSS/CSSLogon.htm.

Related Library Catalog Searches

Career Development

Cover Letters

Employment Interviewing

Job Hunting

Occupations

Resumes (Employment)

Vocational Guidance

Vocational Guidance - Career Changes

Vocational Guidance - Career Development