subject guide: genealogy

Genealogy is the study of family ancestries and histories.  Those interested in researching their family’s history have access to a variety of resources in libraries, historical centers, and online.

Library Materials

online databases

Ancestry.com - www.ancestrylibrary.com (can only be accessed in the library)

Research your family tree with info from millions of census, military, social security, birth, death and immigration records stretching as far back as the 1700s.

HeritageQuest -

If inside the library, click: www.heritagequestonline.com/hqoweb/library/do/index

If outside the library, click: http://persi.heritagequestonline.com/hqoweb/library/do/login/barcode?aid=13331

This genealogy database includes access to the U.S. Federal Census collection, over 20,000 family and local history books, an index to nearly 2 million magazine articles with genealogical information and a database of Revolutionary War era records.  The database can be accessed from the library and home computers.

websites

U.S. Genealogy Web Project - www.usgenweb.org 
Provides links to resources categorized by state and county.

Indiana Library Genealogy Division - www.in.gov/library/3076.htm

Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center - www.acpl.lib.in.us/genealogy/index.html

Indiana Genealogical Society - www.indgensoc.org

Family Search - www.familysearch.org
This site offers access to the largest collection of genealogical data.

Indiana State Archives Indexes - http://www.in.gov/icpr/2358.htm
Access to a variety of government records online.

Death Indexes - www.deathindexes.com
Directory of online death indexes by state and county.

RootsWeb - www.rootsweb.ancestry.com
An online community and message board for those interested in genealogy.

The National Archives Genealogy - http://www.archives.gov/research/genealogy/index.html
Find search aids online and information on how to conduct research with different types of records.

Organizations

Johnson County Museum of History - www.johnsoncountymuseum.org
The Genealogy Library at the museum offers the best collection of local genealogy information.
135 N. Main Street            Museum Hours:               
Franklin, IN  46131           Monday-Friday 9am-4pm
(317) 736-4655                 Open Saturday of each month from 10am-3pm

Johnson County Public Library - www.jcplin.org
The Historical Room at the Franklin Branch offers a wide array of local information.
401 State St.
Franklin, IN 46131
(317) 738-2833

Indiana State Library Genealogy Division - http://www.in.gov/library/genealogy.htm
Explore one of the largest family history collections in the Midwest.  You can also email questions to the genealogy librarians through this website.
140 N. Senate Ave.
Indianapolis, IN 46204
(317) 232-3689

Indiana State Historical Society Library - www.indianahistory.org
450 W. Ohio St.  Indianapolis, IN 46202     (317) 232-1882
Library Hours: Tuesday-Saturday 10am-5pm


Allen County Public Library Genalogy Center - http://www.acpl.lib.in.us/genealogy/
Its genealogy collection is second only to the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
900 Library Plaza              Center Hours:
Fort Wayne, IN 46802       Monday-Thursday 9am-9pm
(260) 421-1225                Friday-Saturday 9am-6pm
                                            Sundays Noon-5pm